Thursday, May 3, 2012

Hair Growth Cycle

Human hair grows in a continuous cyclic pattern, which includes the Anagen,
Catagen, and Telogen phases.
The anagen phase is a period of active stable growth, high metabolic activity, rapid
bulb matrix cell division, and differentiation.
The catagen phase is a relatively brief period of 2 – 4 weeks of hair follicle
degradation preceding the resting period.
The telogen phase is a period of complete inactivity, lasting 2 – 5 months.
In general, the duration of each phase depends on the body area. The difference in
the duration of certain phase related to the hair location in the human body may be
significant – from few weeks to few years.

No comments:

Post a Comment

My Blog List